h1

The Content of Chracter: Ethical Sayings of the Prophet Muhamad

October 27, 2007

bha70-lg.jpgThis is a short collection Hadith’s that are translated by Hamza Yusuf. The book has been lying around the house for a while, but I never bothered to read it since I am not convinced of the accuracy of the hadiths and I actually disagree with a lot of them. But last night I picked it up, flipped through it, and ended up reading it to the end.

The book contains 130 hadiths (Arabic and English side by side) dedicated to building a virtuous character. I found it very interesting to read, since I believe everyone should implement these things in their life regardless of what God they believe in because these words do not pertain to a specific religion, but a person’s character.

I loved it and wish it was longer. A lot of what I’ve read are things I already incorporate in my life, or at least try to. I’ll leave you with a few quotes (which I’ll regularly add to my sidebar)

  • The Messenger of God (PBuH) said, “Should you become eager to mention another’s faults, recall your own”

قالَ رَسُولُ الله صَلَّى الله عَليهِ وَسلًَََّمَ: إذا أرَدتَ أن تَذكُرَ عُيُوبَ غَيرِكَ فَاذكُر عُيُوبَ نَفسِكَ

  • The Messenger of God (PBuH) said: “The majority of a man’s sins emanate from his tongue”

قالَ رَسُولُ الله صَلَّى الله عَليهِ وَسلًَََّمَ: أكثَرُ خَطايَا ابنِ آدَمَ فِي لِسانِهِ

  • The Messenger of God (PBuH) said: “God veils the faults of anyone who supressed their anger”

قالَ رَسُولُ الله صَلَّى الله عَليهِ وَسلًَََّمَ: مَن كَفَّ عَضَبَهُ سَتَرَ الله عَورَتَه

 

 

7 comments

  1. jazakii allah alf kheir 🙂 – la2 seriously! am not making fun…

    You see, don’t just read ANY book out there, you have to make sure that the sources are right.. am not convinced with all the hadeeths & I go ask my dad bas the ones you have in your post are good..

    I wish my tongue would be “shorter” :p


  2. You’re right about researching the sources. The book mentions the sources and has a short description of each source which pave the way for further research. But what i liked about these quotes is that they are useful whether they are accurate or not.


  3. Hey Enigma! I just found out about your new blog. I like it =)

    As for the book, I love Hamza Yousef so much. Its been a while since I picked a book of his or watched any of his documentries. I’ll see if I can find this one. The hadiths look interesting.

    Keep up the good work :***


  4. Great! I’ll see if I can get my hands on some of his stuff. I have a few of his lecture CDs 😀


  5. I am not a book person..


  6. I’m thinking about reading such books. I just got into reading Qur’an.. everyday I’ve been reading like 10 pages.. it’d be great to read this book b3ad.

    Ana b3ad agool.. jazach Allah alf 5air. Allah y7af’6ich inshallah.


  7. ya36eech alf 3afya babes :**

    the second one is so true, if people would only believe that silence is golden and only speak of good things!



Leave a Reply

