h1

Kindle: Amazon’s New Wireless Reading Device

November 20, 2007

This wireless, portable device from Amazon.com brings reading to a new level. It allows the user to purchase books from the Kindle Store, and within a minute the book is delivered wirelessly. The store carries 80,000 books in addition to newspapers, magazines, and blogs; and you can read the beginning of any book or magazine for free before you decide to buy it. I won’t go into more technical details, that’s what Amazon is for.

It’s a very interesting concept, but I actually learned that it’s not completely new, there’s also the Sony Reader which I never heard about. And since it’s using a mobile network instead of WiFi, I don’t know how that will work out outside the US. I don’t really like the design, the Sony Reader looks better in my opinion. And I dunno, it’s much nicer when you have all the books piled in a bookcase, don’t you think? It is priced at $399, which is reasonable. I might get my hands on one some day, but only after they make one that works in kuwait and change the ugly design because design is very important to me. The concept is amazing though.

Link

12 comments

  1. looks like one amazing device, The price is worth buying one!


  2. Sure its cool, but paper is better.


  3. I love good old fashioned paper books šŸ™‚ but the idea is great for others.


  4. Allahhh.. jameel…


  5. Amu: It is!

    N: I know šŸ˜€

    Elijah: You’re right, nothing beats reading the old fashioned way

    Swair: Min sij wala sarcastic? ;p I still love it


  6. Don’t you just love Technology!!!


  7. Btw , taslee7 li ma3lomatkum .. The old fashioned way is reading on rocks LOL , Shoot me.


  8. i agree with you, nice idea, but it looks awful!


  9. It’s brilliant i tell you, but i prefer the sensation of the book in your hand instead.


  10. Oh I posted on this a few hours ago.. I don’t like it at all!


  11. I prefer an actual book, mo 7elwa w ana mendamja bil novel wela ye5ali9 il battery madri yeshayir. Ba3dain I agree, shaklah mo thaak il zoud.


  12. the Kindle’s main selling point for me is it’s text-to-specch feature



Leave a Reply

