h1

Nineteen Eighty Four: A Novel

November 27, 2007

“It was a bright cold day in April, and the clocks were striking thirteen…”

I have heard a lot about this novel by George Orwell. It is supposedly haunting, bleak, depressing. People claim that this is what humanity is heading for, and that some of what Orwell predicted of the future is chillingly accurate. Constant wars, opression, and lack of freedom of thought, love, anything except eating and drinking and making babies.

It was boring. For the first 100 pages, I would literally fall asleep after reading a few pages. It got so boring that at one point, I flipped through 19 pages. It was too unrealistic- which I don’t mind at all when reading science fiction, but I just had different expectations. It wasn’t the worst book I’ve read, but I give up on classics.

7 comments

  1. i didnt finish it yet, and i started reading it in january because it drags and its so boring, and i dunno its just so very uninteresting, so i get wat ur saying


  2. We had to read it in HS, i hated it, i thought it was the most boring book ever, along with Brave New World and Farenheit 451.


  3. oh if I can’t go through 1 chapter, I would just skip the book! Mashallah 3laich how did you manage to read something that made you sleep lol!!


  4. I think you are too bored so you started reading :p


  5. OMG 3ad I had it in my cart ib Amazon! :S

    Ashwa eni I didn’t buy it yet.


  6. It doesn’t look that promising :\
    I think we need more like happy reading than those of depressed. Our lives are miserable enough to read such literature.


  7. thank god for your post! i had it in my cart too and would’ve been really depressed- i don’t like unfinished business.



Leave a Reply

